European Public Law Organization

The European Public Law Organization (EPLO) was founded in 1995 and is an International Intergovernmental Organization headquartered in Athens, Greece, whose specific mandate is the creation and dissemination of knowledge in the area of public law and the promotion of European values throughout the world. To this effect, the EPLO organizes and supports educational, technical cooperation, training, scientific research and other activities. The Organization has 61 staff and a network of over 1500 scientific collaborators and experts.

To date, the EPLO has seventeen Member States, including Greece, Italy, Cyprus, France, Serbia, Estonia, Moldova, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Ukraine, Georgia, Romania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Albania, Hungary, Portugal and Bulgaria. The EPLO’s Board of Directors comprises also 70 Universities and Institutions from 35 countries, the European Commission and the Council of Europe. The EPLO’s Scientific Council is constituted by the European Group of Public Law (EGPL), a European network of academics, judges and practitioners formed in 1989 with the purpose of advancing and directing the development of European Public Law. The EGPL membership unites today 255 leading figures in the field of European Public Law.

The EPLO implements a large number of technical cooperation projects which assist governments and institutions around the world in advancing reforms in a wide range of public law areas. The main areas of intervention comprise: Justice and the rule of law: criminal and civil justice reform, access to justice and law enforcement; Human rights: in particular rights of women, children, minorities and other vulnerable groups; Legislative approximation to the acquis communautaire; Public administration reform; Democratization: parliamentary development and electoral reforms; Migration and trafficking in human beings. Within this framework, the EPLO carries out such diverse actions as providing technical legal advice to national authorities for legislative and policy reforms, training for civil servants and judges, institution building directed at modernizing public institutions or aimed at the empowerment of civil society, policy-oriented research and raising public awareness. In 20 years of existence, the EPLO has implemented over 200 technical cooperation projects in more than 60 countries. The European Commission is the main donor of the EPLO’s projects.

The EPLO is also a nationally Mandated Body of the Hellenic Republic for implementing European Union Twinning projects. Such projects assist EU candidate countries and countries of the European Neighborhood Policy in the development of modern and efficient public administrations, with the structures, human resources and management skills needed to implement the EU acquis to the same standards as the Member States. To date, the EPLO has executed 36 Twinning Projects in numerous countries and sectors.

The EPLO has established 4 branch offices in Bucharest (Romania), Chania (Greece), Chisinau (Moldova) and Yerevan (Armenia), in addition to 8 regional offices in Brussels (Belgium), Brcko (Bosnia and Herzegovina), León (Nicaragua), Mariupol (Ukraine), Mexico City (Mexico), Odessa (Ukraine), Skalica (Slovakia), Tehran (Iran), and the United Nations Observer Office in Geneva (Switzerland). These regional offices support the EPLO’s headquarters in its constant effort to disseminate knowledge in the area of public law and to support European values.